McNair Student Spotlight – Michael Flores

Michael Flores is a graduate student in the English Department at NMU.  The McNair program recently funded his travel to Albuquerque, NM to present his research at the University of New Mexico McNair Scholars Research Symposium.

Michael Flores Blog Picture

Briefly describe your McNair research project

For my project I analyzed a poem by Gloria Anzaldùa titled “To Live in the Borderlands Means You”. I employed a new historicist critique of her work, focusing on the imagery she incorporates and how it parallels historical, social, and cultural occurrences prevalent among inhabitants of the U.S.-Mexico border region.

Tell us about your recent travel

The McNair program provided an excellent opportunity to not only share my research with others in the program, but to visit a university that is one of the schools I will be applying to for Ph.D programs: The University of New Mexico. While there I was able to connect to faculty members in the program I am interested in and meet other scholars that shared my interest. I also learned about the rich history of the area, the college campus, and the work that other scholars were doing. It was a fun and enriching experience and I hope many in the McNair program, as well as future McNair scholars, get to be involved in similar trips.

Share your thoughts about the McNair Program.  How has the program helped you?

The McNair program has provided the encouragement and structure to pursue my area of academic interest—and the funding for my research made it possible to do so. They are invaluable at providing the knowledge and understanding I need when applying to graduate schools. The McNair program offers many events that helped me prepare financially, academically, and professionally to enter into a Ph.D program.

What are your plans for the future?

I will be applying to English Ph.D programs in the near future, specializing in American Literature. I’m hoping to relocate somewhere in the southwest so I can study the literature of that region.

Leave a Reply

